1888 Barn October 2002
Sioux Falls, SD
City of Sioux Falls Parks & Recreation Department
Date of Completion
The 1888 Barn was originally constructed in the settlement known as East Sioux Falls. As agricultural land use was discontinued at the site, the Barn fell into disrepair. The Barn space housed horses in stalls with a hayloft above for feed. The unique style of the Barn's design is attributed to Wallace A. Dow, a prominent local architect of the period.
Koch Hazard Architects completed extensive research starting with the only photograph in existence of the Barn on it's original East Sioux Falls site. The Barn was later moved to its current location near the quarries on the east side of Sioux Falls. The site and the Barn were donated to the City of Sioux Falls for development into a 26 acre park.
(1 of 2) photos